.

SFO IS ABUSIVE TO NEARBY RESIDENTS!

The SFO noise abatement complaints do NOTHING! They IGNORE THEM, and pretend they don't know what you are talking about! Then, there is a snotty SFO operator (calls herself 1760), who tells you that "you live in an airport town, you have to just live with it!" (WHAT A TERRIBLE ATTITUDE!) NO WE DON'T! Airports are supposed to benefit people, but not at the EXPENSE of people! So, technology to determine what is disturbing to residents must change along with the airplane technology; otherwise there will never be an accurate assessment of what is bothersome about the noise coming from the airport and the airplanes! Does anyone even know what impact this rumbling, booming, undulating sound, that comes in waves, has on people? Personally it bothers my ears, makes me feel dizzy, nauseated, off balance, and raises my irritability level. 12/03/2013, 12:30 am, and it sounds like business as usual at the airport! It is AWFUL! I spoke with an SFO manager, Charles Navigante on the phone, and he had nothing helpful to say about the terrible noise, nor anything about my suggestion about the airport putting up a noise barrier wall! He basically wanted to get off the phone with me, and wanted me to speak with the ineffective noise abatement dept. He said they would give me a call....they NEVER did! He is an ineffective manager! I have noticed that the airport traffic has gotten heavier, and goes longer into the night, or just not ending at all! When I told him about the weird rumbling sound, like in waves, he acted like he was puzzled by my comment, and said that it must be the way the sound echoed around the hills. Well, since then, I read that the airplane technology had changed, and the sound emitting from the planes are more vibration, than noise. "...But noise may have given way to vibration.

“I think when they engineered these new engines it actually made more of a vibration,” said Gary Aronson, a Millbrae resident who has spent most of his 60 years living right next to the airport on the other side of U.S. Highway 101.
Neither SFO nor the FAA measure vibrations. To do so would require airport officials to install pricey accelerometers in homes and “watch families in their living rooms” to determine whether vibrations were coming from planes or people walking around the house, said SFO’s noise abatement director, Burt Ganoung. (I've spoken with Burt, what a dud!)

The recent civil grand jury report on airport noise says the airport should publish data about single noise events — such as one airplane screaming overhead. Currently, the airport only reports the average daily noise level over a three-month period..." SF Examiner July 17, 2012
 To me, it sounds like the rumbling after a bomb has gone off! It is making me feel I am living in a war zone! It's making my nerves ragged! Millbrae has high property taxes, but this increasing airport noise is lowering the property value! How could it not? Let Millbrae lower our taxes and let the airport make up for it! The airport removed trees that were at least a bit of sound barrier, WHY? It is thumbing their noses at residents! Why can't the airport put up a noise barrier wall? Basically, because they are greedy, and don't want to spend the money for the comfort and health of mere residents! They gave a few Millbrae residents double pane windows and insulation, but that was a token effort! Those residents still suffer greatly, and have their nerves and dishes rattled! No one ever anticipated the type of planes, the noise and influx of traffic, when the airport opened! The noise and the traffic have increased exponentially since the 1940's. My family has had this home since 1940, and believe me, Millbrae has been battered, bruised and abused by SFO, and it must STOP! They are showing a great contempt, lowering property values, and making people ill to what degree, we don't even know at this time! It is uncomfortable, and keeps people from sleeping decently! I feel like I have PTSD, and I live around a mile from the airport! SFO"s GREED, is NOT more important than the welfare of the people! They are a money making business! Who ever heard of a business getting away with bothering so many people? IT IS OUTRAGEOUS! PEOPLE NEED TO RISE UP AND TELL SFO, ENOUGH! WE WON'T TAKE YOUR LIES, NOISE, OR ABUSE FOR GREED ANY LONGER! They supposedly keep track of complaint calls, so PLEASE CALL THE SFO NOISE ABATEMENT NUMBER EVERY DAY! HAVE A RECORD NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS LISTED! How do I File a Noise Complaint? Noise Complaint Hotline: 650.821.4736 Toll Free Noise Complaint Hotline: 877.206.8290 Noise Complaint Email: sfo.noise@flysfo.com. IF THEY DON'T STOP ABUSING US, WE SHOULD FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAIST SFO! PEOPLE ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN GREEDY COMPANIES!

Concerned Citizen December 05, 2013 at 04:05 AM
PLEASE SIGN PETITION! THANK YOU! Act now and to stop the SFO Airport Noise at: http://www.sfonoise.com/ http://www.sfonoise.com/
Tanya December 05, 2013 at 11:06 AM
Cheryl, There is a round table in Feb open to public that you can go to if you want to meet all these people in person and voice your complaint. It would be great of you could spread the word to other concerned residents. I am not sure how effective it is but at the very least, the noise committee will see residents. As of now no one seems to go to these round table except SFO noise office staff and some reps from affected cities so they can pat themselves on the back for a great job they do!
Dave Pine December 05, 2013 at 12:47 PM
Cheryl, My name is Dave Pine and I serve on the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors. Millbrae is part of my supervisorial district. I am also a member of the SFO Airport Roundtable which deals with noise issues. Please call or email me and I will do what I can to help you here. Dave Pine San Mateo County Supervisor, First District 400 County Center, 1st Floor Redwood City, CA 94063 (650) 363-4571 (w) (650) 814-3103 (m) dpine@smcgov.org
Concerned Citizen December 06, 2013 at 02:24 PM
Thank you Dave! I will be in contact shortly!
Nick Rose December 07, 2013 at 02:08 PM
I lived in Millbrae for 26 years and loved the noise of the airplanes. There is not much the airport can do about the noise. A sound barrier will do nothing because the airplanes fly over the house, so the noise will be above the barrier. They can't change the landing and take off patterns because it will delay the passengers. If you want to complain to some one complain to the cities that allowed housing to be built near an airport.
Doug Radtke December 07, 2013 at 07:02 PM
SFO paid for sound proofing and double-paned windows for Bayside Manor at one point. They are responsible for at least attempts at mitigating the problem and coming up with reasonable solutions. SFO has paid a lot of attention to Palo Alto, because they have complained the most as of late to my understanding. Squeaky wheel gets the grease!
Dagmar Dolatschko December 09, 2013 at 09:47 AM
I live in San Carlos, and even this far from the airport, I have recently, make that the last 5-6 months, seen a strong increase in planes. They used to fly higher, and further over the coastal range. Now the big planes are accelerating right over our houses in a much smaller circle - to save fuel or time? I don't know. I just know that the roaring noise and the pollution has more than doubled over the course of 2013. I started to keep a log of how many of the big planes are flying overhead, but like most of you, have better things to do. I too called the sfnoise line, to get a call back, trying to make sure I don't file a complaint. I didn't have the time to deal with it, but felt brushed aside. I have been told, they had to add a few flights and yes, the flight pattern had to be changed somewhat. So - I kept wondering if there is something a mere citizen can do. I think the idea to keep calling the hotline, and if hundreds or thousands of us do it, should get somebody's attention. I'll post on our neighborhood group to see if anybody else notices what's going on overhead ...
Concerned Citizen December 10, 2013 at 02:51 AM
Yes, the sound barriers will help when the planes are sitting the on the ground waiting to take off. Love the sound of planes? What, at 3 am, 6 am? It is abusive. When the airport came along no one could predict the enormity of it all to come! The planes make more noise, there's more of them, and they fly at all hours! They need to stop being bullies, and stop acting like only THEY matter!
Concerned Citizen December 14, 2013 at 12:21 AM
SFO either needs to curtail their activity, and keep within reasonable standards, or find another place to go! When the airport started, there were a few prop planes, but there was no way to foresee the influx of air traffic, or noise of modern planes. Human beings need peace and less stress in their lives to be productive members of society. It isn't right for a money making enterprise to take that away from people! They should relinquish some of the air traffic to San Jose. Answers MUST be found, but no longer at the expense of people!!
Nick Rose December 14, 2013 at 01:22 AM
Those options will never happen. Even if the airport reduces the number of flights, people will still complain about noise. It would cost probably billions of dollars to move the airport and also there goes all the jobs that the airport/airlines provide to the local cities.
Michael G. Stogner December 15, 2013 at 11:10 PM
Cheryl, I just want to give you this link to an article where a group of citizens have met in Atherton to discuss and solve a noise issue with one air carrier at San Carlos Airport. So I know its not SFO but it is a local group and they might have some ideas that could be helpful to you. Best of Luck and I see that Supervisor Dave Pine has been in communication with you, He is one of the Good Guys. http://www.almanacnews.com/square/2013/11/18/wednesday-aircraft-noise-over-atherton-on-council-agenda
Concerned Citizen December 16, 2013 at 02:21 PM
Michael, I think that is a wonderful idea! Thank you!
Concerned Citizen December 16, 2013 at 02:30 PM
Michael, that is the second time, I Have heard Dave Pine referred to in that way! I certainly hope that is the case! Today, 12/16/2013, the airport has ramped up the noise! They need to have a limit as to the amount of planes they handle! SFO CANNOT BE GREEDY AT THE EXPENSE OF PEOPLE/RESIDENTS! Dave Pine certainly knows the problem, why does it take people to do more then alert him to it, to solve the problem? WE NEED NOISE BARRIERS, FEWER PLANES, RESTRICTION OF HOURS, MORE PLANES FLYING OVER WATER AND NOT HOMES! IT IS NOT HARD TO UNDERSTAND!
Tanya December 16, 2013 at 02:33 PM
Dagmar, We are in Millbrae and I have noticed things are much worse over the last 5-6 months. I complained to the SFO noise office, and they tell me their sensors are not showing any change in noise levels, and that this is the best they have had in years!!! I am at my wits end with the non-stop noise and rumbling,and that no one seems to care. Palo Alto gets the attention because they complain and I guess they are rich! Millbrae city council doesn't seem to want to get involved with the noise issue. I have reached out to Dave Pine regarding my complaints. I am hoping that will get us somewhere.
Concerned Citizen December 16, 2013 at 02:35 PM
Nick, your defeatist attitude is appalling!
Concerned Citizen December 16, 2013 at 02:44 PM
I noticed that one of the last noise abatement meetings merely dealt with someone's retirement! How long have these noise groups gotten together, because from where I sit, NOTHING HAS CHANGED, IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE!
Tanya December 16, 2013 at 02:49 PM
Cheryl and other, Do you know of any other way beside this post to reach out to Millbrae residents? I am sure we are not the only ones having issues with the SFO noise, but I am not sure what is the best way to get everyone together to have a group like the Atherton group.
Concerned Citizen December 16, 2013 at 02:50 PM
Dagmar, YES! We need to organize! If we need to start a class action lawsuit too, SO BE IT!
Doug Radtke December 16, 2013 at 02:53 PM
If there is a serious desire to form a 503c organization to further the agenda of getting the noise under control, keep me in the loop.
Michael G. Stogner December 16, 2013 at 03:03 PM
The meeting took place in Atherton, the 125 people who attended were from San Carlos, Redwood City, Menlo Park, and Atherton. A lot could be learned from this group. Residents of San Mateo County should pay attention to Regional Planning Groups and local elected officials who think Regional is a good idea. There are Plans to add millions of more people to our area. So organize to solve this problem but keep eyes open for future.
Tanya December 16, 2013 at 03:07 PM
Michael, how did you get so many people? I would be happy if I can get 10 people out of Millbrae!
Fred December 16, 2013 at 06:11 PM
We were thinking of walking Millbrae and putting a alert information memo in people's mail boxes. The other thing is to get a petition started,stand out in front of Pete's. People should go to the next meeting of the airport commission. The city council seem interested in our concerns. At candidate night that question was asked and the only one responding to this problem was Anne Schneider and she didn't win. The voter turn out was pathetic . Come on Millbrae residents get in loved.
Tanya December 16, 2013 at 06:20 PM
Count me in to help out with the distribution of alert information.
Nick Rose December 16, 2013 at 07:03 PM
LOL! Cheryl Pet, Thank you, I'm honored.
Michael G. Stogner December 16, 2013 at 08:52 PM
Tanya, I didn't, I read a blog everyday at the Almanac and a couple of residents posted about it, then the Mayor and a council member it just grew quickly, I have never seen anything like it. Everybody that is interested in this topic should set up a meeting with Supervisor Dave Pine if he is willing to get involved. That's my 2 cents worth, and Good luck
Concerned Citizen December 19, 2013 at 02:59 PM
Everyone who wants to attend a meet in early January, please let me know! Dave Pine is setting one up with the "powers that be" concerning SFO noise!
Michael G. Stogner December 19, 2013 at 03:44 PM
Right On....
Concerned Citizen December 22, 2013 at 08:37 PM
Fred, I'm in too!
Concerned Citizen December 22, 2013 at 08:38 PM
WE DO NEED TO ORGANIZE! COME TO THE MEETING!
Tanya January 09, 2014 at 02:50 PM
The meeting is tomorrow at 4:00PM at the SFO noise abatement office. Please join and spread the word.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something